And yet another distraction

Not surprisingly, I could not walk away from those batik strips and work on other things.

Rainbow project 1

I sorted them and laid them out in color order. Sooooo cliche! Tried out several ideas, such as interspersing the strips with black and white, generally checkerboard ideas. Picked out several fabrics that related to each other

Rainbow project 2

but they didn’t really relate to the batik strips.

Then I remembered this fabric that I’ve had for several years

Rainbow project 4

and this companion fabric that I’ve had for not quite as many years.

Rainbow project 3

Played around with the checkerboard idea for a while longer and finally figured out that I wanted whole chunks of the dot fabric.

This is what I tried and I think it has potential.

Rainbow project 5

Better with less gray and more of the color showing.

Rainbow project 6

The strips will remain loose and raw edged, so I need a fabric underneath. Because I don’t have enough of either the gray or colored dots, of course!

Maybe this

Rainbow project 7

Maybe a strip set of these soft colors

Rainbow project 8

Maybe a darker gray. It won’t show much–only when the loose strips move, but if I add beads and other embellishments, the strips are more likely to move and what shows underneath should make a cohesive picture.

Another distraction, halfway planned…another piece I would like to have finished before the end of the year. The list is getting longer all the time!

But how could I resist those batik strips? Really!

14 thoughts on “And yet another distraction

  1. This is exactly how I think. We would be awful, (or wonderful), working together. I like the process you show, and the open-endedness just as much. You have room to change your mind yet, and something tells me you will. My only issue with working like this is I tend to lay the ‘thought in progress’ to the side so I can get back to it, and my brain fires on to the next one the same way. It’s still a joy to go through the cycle even if an actual thing never materializes. I consider this creative process very important to my actual work.

    Like

    • Oh, yes–come on over! It’s all fun all the time over here and sometimes I even produce something that I really love!

      On Fri, Dec 4, 2015 at 2:40 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. I love the fabrics you’ve pulled for this and I can’t wait to see how it comes together. I loved that dot fabric and bought some in a different colorway when I first saw it but it’s been sitting unused in my stash ever since. Maybe your project will inspire me!

    Like

    • Yep–I know everybody has this fabric in one of the colorways! Probably ’cause it’s so cool. I’m glad I finally found a way to use it.

      On Fri, Dec 4, 2015 at 11:53 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. I love that dot fabric you are using in all it’s color ways. I could kick my self for not buying when I saw it at the Grand Rapids show.

    Like

    • I love it, too, in all the colorways, but I have been able to resist except for these two pieces. When they are used, I hope I can continue to resist!

      On Thu, Dec 3, 2015 at 6:33 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • Choice and indecision–the most difficult problem! I can’t imagine ever running out of ideas because I get inspired by every piece of fabric I see. Sometimes even from *pictures* of fabrics that someone else has posted!!!

      On Thu, Dec 3, 2015 at 7:21 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.