Another one done!

I’m so happy with myself, I can’t stop smiling! I finished the quilting on the red tree workshop quilt. I took some pictures before washing it, though, because I think there is some potential for bad things happening.

Let me tell you what I mean.

Quilting from the back worked very well. You can really tell that it’s a tree, with some grasses on the sides and a few roots below.

Red tree 2

Here’s a detail.

Red tree 3

Of course, not so much from the front, which is exactly what I expected.

Red tree 1

A bit better in the red border.

Red tree 5

And I really want to show you how serious I am about those chalk lines being guidelines.

Red tree 6

You can see that there is no need to follow them exactly, as long as you are filling the area with what you had intended.

So here’s where the problems may occur…it’s not quilted evenly throughout, which will make for some waviness in the borders. It’s not quilted within an inch of it’s life, which will make for some unexpected puffiness in spots. The backing is dyed, and though I believe is was well washed, there is the potential for some bleeding.

And with that potential, I don’t even care if ALL the bad things happen. I like this little piece much more than I did when I started it in the workshop and I’m happy that I pushed through to finish it, rather than set it aside!

And, I have to be careful not to injure myself patting myself on the back!

6 thoughts on “Another one done!

  1. And once you’ve put the binding on, or however you decide to finish the edges, the piece with take on yet another character!

    Like

    • This one is definitely getting binding–the same red as the border. It doesn’t need any more ‘activity’–only the ‘calmness’ of the red around it!

      On Tue, Dec 8, 2015 at 7:37 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • Even if ALL the bad things happen, I’ll still like it! For me it’s an example of successful problem solving!

      On Tue, Dec 8, 2015 at 7:33 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • I’m washing for two reasons–one is the chalk marks, but I also wash anything that I’ve spray basted. If it can’t be washed, I don’t spray baste it. Spray basting is my favorite method of basting anything larger than about 30 or 40″, but I don’t like to leave it all stuck together with that glue after it’s quilted.

      On Tue, Dec 8, 2015 at 6:59 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.