It’s feast or famine now!

This busy season makes time stretch and contract in mysterious ways. It seems that we are either franctically trying to finish something or running late to be somewhere, or we are in a dead time, either waiting for the next frantic rush or too exhausted from the last one to do anything!

Yesterday I had a chunk of time that was a real blessing. It was the annual daddy/daughter Christmas shopping trip, which gives both of them some time for a nice lunch, some people watching and a bit of buying! It gives ME time to do whatever I want, and I wanted to do some sewing!

My project that I can’t share yet needed something of interest right in the center. I hit upon the idea of a garden gate and went searching for images. I found a few (copyright free!) that I liked and made a transparency.

CS challenge gate 1

I hung the piece on a closet door and tried them out.

CS challenge gate 2

BTW, I love having an old overhead projector for this purpose. I use it a lot. Adjusted the size easily because I could project directly on to the piece. Then traced the design onto paper.

CS challenge gate 3 CS challenge gate 4

I’ve done this before and it makes things so easy. Simply stitch right over the lines and it’s ready to go, for further stitching. And, yes, I could do this by tracing the design onto the quilt, but I don’t like any kind of marking line if I can possibly avoid it. The hardest part is picking paper out of the tiny places in the design. The big sections are simple!

On this piece, I did not aim for perfection in following the lines. I wanted a sketchy look–and I’m not a very good thread sketcher–but I like this.

CS challenge gate 5

CS challenge gate 6

This project is nearing completion. I need to make a decision about edge finishing and there are beads and ribbon from the challenge elements that I have not incorporated. Not sure how/what will happen there, because I’m feeling like the piece may be done now. But, what the heck! I’ve never been one to follow the rules very well—even when I am the one who made the rules!

 

 

4 thoughts on “It’s feast or famine now!

    • Thanks. Can’t wait to show the final result….IF I ever get there. Sewing time is at such a premium right now!

      On Tue, Dec 22, 2015 at 12:21 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • And it’s very easy to do–as long as I have the advantage of the right tools! That overhead projector has saved me many times!

      On Mon, Dec 21, 2015 at 7:41 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.