Bits of work

Just little bits of work going on right now.

I found the perfect thread for adding some stitching to my turquoise beaded heart–and I already had it in my stash!

Embroidery thread turq heart

The stitching was a simple outline stitch echoing the heart shape and I certainly don’t think it needs anything more.

Turq bead heart

The colors don’t show exactly correctly in this picture, but some black beads added to this heart gave it a little needed sparkle.

Black green bead heart

The only other thing I got to do this week was a fun meeting with my Whacky Group (the Knot Even Quilters). We are starting to  study fabric manipulation in a little greater detail.

We looked at a DVD by Cheryl Sleboda and The Art of Fabric Manipulation by Collette Wolff. There is sooooo much material available and we didn’t even hit the internet for tutorials! We did a little furrowed circle and all agreed that we are having lots of fun with this.

KEQ fabric manip

For our next meeting, we selected a lattice pattern and we’ll all be working on that.

KEQ lattice smock

But I know myself well enough to know that I’ll be doing more than one little technique sample between now and then! This is fascinating to study and learning new things excites me!

Fun and learning ahead…can’t get much better than that!

4 thoughts on “Bits of work

    • Covered a lot of ground but I want to get into fabric manipulation in much more depth. It’s the handwork aspect of it that intrigues me. Can’t wait to dig in!

      On Sat, Jan 23, 2016 at 10:31 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • I’ll have to live to be 200 to learn and do half the things that interest me! And the yellow–which is green in real life–and black look much better in person. Always something fun to do! Kathy

      On Sat, Jan 23, 2016 at 7:54 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.