Details…and pre-planned!

Prepping canvas

Canvas prep

and sewing sleeves on quilts

Sleeve prep

can only get you so far through a sewing day. Boredom sets in quickly when you are doing the ‘have-tos’ and not the ‘want-tos’.

Even if you have a ton of unfinished projects, there is no reason to hold back from creating something new. However, it moves things along much more quickly if you have the project all planned out in your head ahead of time.

I previously created a piece called Is This El Dorado? from these fabrics,

Is This El Dorado? 1

New project 12

and had always planned on making at least one more piece from the same fabrics.

The pre-planning happened in my subconscious while the leftovers from the first piece marinated in a drawer for months. When I pulled them out of the drawer today, the pieces just flew together.

The first step, though, was either trimming the edges without fusible or adding fusible to edges that I wanted to keep.

Desert sunset 2

And I wasn’t concerned about using up all my fabric because I actually have quite a bit extra that I could create more shapes from if I needed them.

Desert sunset 3

Grabbed the background fabric I wanted to use…kind of dark and foreboding, or late into a sunset…and started adding the pieces.

Desert sunset 1

Horizontal format this time, very narrow, is what the picture in my head dictated to me. This is around 50″ across so plenty of room to spread out my “city.” Rearranged pieces and straightened the bottom edges.

Desert sunset 4

My subconscious is quite pleased with what I did today. That pre-planning really helped the process along.

Maybe I should do it more often!

 

8 thoughts on “Details…and pre-planned!

    • Don’t know if I’ll put as much embellishment on this one as on the last one in this series–because I know how long it will take!!!

      On Tue, Jan 26, 2016 at 11:51 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • I’ve started making most of my own fabric with paints, stencils, stamps, screens, dyes…fascinating and always, always gives you unique results. That helps spur me on to creating new pieces!

      On Tue, Jan 26, 2016 at 7:09 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • And having done one in these fabrics before, along with the painting I did as the initial inspiration helped so very much with the mental planning work!

      On Tue, Jan 26, 2016 at 4:45 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  1. I love how you laid the pieces out. I am going to try your artistry by taking a picture and making a template for the cutout buildings. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • You don’t really need a template. I found it quite easy, since I fused with a paper-backed fusible, to just sketch out a rectangular, up and down line across it and then cut. You get a two for one, because each side can be used as the skyline!

      Like

Comments are closed.