New challenge

Creative Seasons is an art group to which I belong. The group has been in existence for 9 years and the founder of the group suggested that we make something to celebrate. Something–anything–related to the theme of 9.

Nine patch, of course, is the obvious starting point. Heaven forbid that I would ever do the obvious!

Actually, I had an idea almost from the moment Carol suggested the theme. The design flew right into my head and the only decisions became fabric ones. Ha ha ha ha…like that has ever been easy for me!

There are no pictures of the piles of fabrics I played with before I made my choices. Actually, I was so focused on putting things together according to the picture in my head that I didn’t take any process photos until I had it all laid out!

CS 9 challenge 1

Pieces of silk from silk sari yarn, fabric with text, felted wool strips all on a felted wool background. The background looks black in the photo, but it’s really a pinstripe.

CS 9 challenge 2

There will be stitchery and most likely some beadery before it’s done.

Sometimes things come together like a dream…

4 thoughts on “New challenge

    • It’s one I’m eager to keep working on and it’s sparking more ideas as I sew. Could be the start of a long running series!

      On Sat, Feb 6, 2016 at 7:18 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • It’s one of those that came full blown into my head and just had to be made! And the finished size is only 12 x 24, because I have a canvas that size that I’m going to wrap the wool around! Remember the A-Team…I love it when a plan comes together!!!

      On Fri, Feb 5, 2016 at 10:01 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.