Too much yarn, not enough yarn!

Sheesh! You’d think I was a knitting perfectionist or something, but all I want is something to have for handwork on vacation.

I have spent way too much time on the internet and looking through my books and magazines to find a sweater pattern that both fits the yarn I have available and that I want to make. I actually have several that I want to make, but I’m too cheap to go out and buy the right yarn to make them! I love this one, but I don’t want to have to think, just knit!

hopoholic from Knitty.com

hopoholic from Knitty.com

I looked through my yarn stash–also too large and needing to be downsized. I have quite a bit of wool, for a once-planned project, but naturally there is not enough of any one color to make a nice, plain cardigan. Enough compatible colors to make about 2 sweaters, but not what I’m interested in making right now. I have an Aran weight yarn in a nice, creamy off-white, but I’ve already made a sweater with that same yarn. I have about 50 balls of different colored, itchy mohair that I really need to find a use for. Nothing is just right.

So I have decided on a strategy for stash reduction! Anything that is close enough in color, size and type to look good together is going to be put into a scarf or afghan and donated to charity. Anything cotton will be made into small baby blankets and donated to charity or a hospital.

Even if it’s hot pink and I have 15 skeins of it because someone found a bargain at a store closeout and then passed it along to me because they couldn’t figure out what to do with it! Someone will use that hot pink afghan…or maybe a dozen people will use a matching scarf, hat and mittens.

I loaded up a large bag with some of that oddball yarn and that’s what I will be doing during spare time on vacation…hands will be busy and yarn will be getting ready to leave my house. Hooray!Yarn de-stash

Starting with cotton–two different kinds of hot pink yarn…this is not that first 15 skeins I mentioned! But this is cotton, so I can give it a dye job! But I think I won’t want to see anything hot pink for quite a while after I use this up!

 

 

