Aaaaaand the carpet, again!

My husband laughs at my fascination with hotel carpet. I’m amused at myself, too, but there is a reason I often take pictures of it. Each hotel chain tries to make a memorable impression on their guests. They place a lot of emphasis on unusual designs, things that you wouldn’t see in your home.

This carpet in Virginia was right up my alley, so to speak.

Carpet VA 1 Carpet VA 2 Carpet VA 3

Lots of color–straight line improv–unusual angles. Looked like a quilt I would like to make.

Carpet VA 4

With a nice stripe to go along…

Carpet VA 5

Makes me so ready to get back to work. So many ideas floating around and I need to get them out of the thought realm and into reality!

4 thoughts on “Aaaaaand the carpet, again!

    • I don’t think carpet stores have this kind of stuff because what people put in their houses has to be neutral. People need to live with it for years and years and what’s in the hotels is usually more flamboyant.

      On Fri, Mar 11, 2016 at 9:40 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  1. I could imagine children playing a hop scotch sort of game in the first hallway…..I wonder if the creator was staring with unfocused eyes from her desk while the idea struck….I see desk profiles.

    Like

    • The chance to show off a “different” design must run through the mind of a designer. They don’t get to do that for normal household designs.

      On Fri, Mar 11, 2016 at 8:58 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.