Love small projects!

There is so much satisfaction in completing any project, from housecleaning (Ugh!) to art making. It makes you smile and feel good about yourself simply to be able to say ‘Done!’

I’ve been getting a lot of little things finished–though absolutely NO housework!–so I’m feeling really good. Over the weekend I did a book signing at a quilt show. Had a great time with a great group, and I had time to do a bit of beading. I finished another one of those ‘stuffed in the back of the drawer’ projects and that’s always fun.

WS Plum Blossom

This is a Weekly Special called Plum Blossom. Ordinarily I don’t make anything so monochromatic, but this seemed to call for beads in the same color family as the tree. Even so, they make the piece sparkle.

WS Plum Blossom detail

And another something that I don’t usually do–put a piece in a frame. This piece is very small at 5 x 7 and needed the emphasis of the frame.

Small city beads

And as long as I’m on a finishing roll, I don’t believe I ever took a finished picture of this piece until now.

City Park CS challenge

It’s the result of a challenge I coordinated and all our projects will be on display at the Greater Ann Arbor Quilt Guild show later this summer. I’ll be sure to give you all the details as the date comes closer. It was astonishing to me how different all the pieces were. Minimal supplies and minimal rules equaled maximum diversity. Wonderful! Hope you get a chance to see them!

6 thoughts on “Love small projects!

  1. These are stunning! I don’t know why it is, but I always feel freer to play with small pieces, and they usually end up being among my favorite pieces.

    Like

    • Having the small projects makes me think much more about design and try to get a *good* design! It’s not as easy as just throwing things onto a canvas and calling it good, as I have done now and again. Now I *think* about what I’m trying to do!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Show done and I got to chat with a lot of people that I haven’t seen in a while. But this Art Walk really isn’t for sales. Maybe after a few more years and getting *all* the merchants to stay open late and participate…

      Like

    • Aaaaaand it’s now time for yard work, so the sewing will slow to a crawl. I love doing both, though, but I’m wishing for more hours in a day!

      Like

Comments are closed.