Love workshops!

When you go to a new city and teach a workshop to women that you don’t know and that don’t know you, it can be a challenge. But when you start the day with a great facility like this

lafayette-1

you know that things are going to go well! Look at all that space!

I will preface the rest of this by saying that I forget to take pictures during the day…because I’m teaching! I can usually take a few shots at the beginning of the day and catch a few when everyone is packing up, and that’s what happened here at the Common Threads Quilt Guild in Lafayette, IN.

No one brings the same fabric selection, but most everyone brings plenty of fabric.

lafayette-3

They got an awesome start making elements in non-traditional ways.

lafayette-4 lafayette-2 lafayette-5

And started putting those elements on their design walls

lafayette-6

This artist started with a combination of warm and cool colors

lafayette-8

and came to a design that kept them separate on the edges and blended them visually through the center.

lafayette-9

She knows where she’s headed with this and is confident of her techniques as she continues forward.

And Tammy, I think, started with more traditional fabrics

lafayette-7

and is working towards this much more dramatic piece.

lafayette-10

lafayette-11

Drama again, and combining curves!  Well on her way to her goal of creating a great piece for fall.

There were so many wonderful pieces and I always forget my camera until half the class has packed up and gone home! What a wonderful group! Everyone was so eager to give everything a try. Enthusiasm was the word of the day and my day working with these lovely ladies was wonderful.

And THEN one of the ladies, Anita, shared part of her work with me. She took me to a co-op gallery of which she is a member and it was spectacular! She brought part of the Marie Webster exhibit, recently held at the Indianapolis Museum of Art, along with some new pieces to the gallery. It was beautiful and I am so grateful for the opportunity.

And then it was time for a quick run home to change suitcases and hop on a plane to Florida. Trying to visit my mother as often as possible and when the airfares are cheap and you have the time, it’s off we go!!! That means you may or may not get any posts for the next couple of weeks!

Time to board our twice-delayed flight…sheesh…driving next time!

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Love workshops!

  1. Yesterday, I quilted some more on the quilt I made in this class you taught in Ann Arbor many years ago. Might get it done in 2017!

    Like

Comments are closed.