Calling it good!

There is only a week until the Artisan Showcase and I’ll pretty much need that time to clean the house and prep it for the show. That means that I need to be done with any new creating, or even any finishing up of found UFO’s. There is just no more time!

There are a few things I need to keep working on, like sleeves and labels. I have a few of those to do!

little-christmas-pieces sleeves

Hand sewing anything is relaxing–except when you have a deadline and can’t get into the slow stitching mode! Almost done, though. I think I only have one more sleeve to attach.

Here are some pictures of things I may have left hanging with you…

coral-reef-surprise

This is what I chose for the final look of this piece–detail below. I want it to have a title that includes something like Underwater Reef Surprise but that doesn’t sound as good as I would like. Time to hit the thesaurus for this title, as well as others.

underwater-reef-surprise-detail

Did I show you this one? Started out large and discouraging and I cut it in half and now it’s two pieces that I like!

two-fer-painted

Another piece that I found in the UFO pile was this tropical island that I made over a year ago. Finally mounted and ready to find a new home.

tropical-island

And speaking of discouragment…this desert city piece did not go according to plan at all! It was supposed to get beads and with the fused fabric and the quilting I did, that plan did not work. My art quilting group suggested foiling and I thought it would work just fine…until I tried it on a practice piece of fabric. Totally disastrous. The only thing that worked was fusible web and that would have taken longer to put on than the original planned beads!

I decided to go with paint and stencils, which is what I created the original fabric with. I got out all my shiny paints and tried them on the type of fabric I would be painting.

desert-city-painting-3

If I had planned this from the beginning, of course I would have painted the fabric before I cut it and fused it to the background. This will work, but I needed to mask off the parts that I didn’t want metallic paint on! What a pain!

desert-city-painting-1 desert-city-painting-2

It worked, but this whole piece took a big track away from the original plan. Because of that, I don’t like it as much as I thought I would…but it could be a favorite for someone else!

Final finishing details are all that remain for me for the next week. That and cleaning…doesn’t that sound like fun? NOT! But it is so worth it because I absolutely love hosting this show. I most likely will not have much to blog about but I definitely will not subject you to pictures of my housecleaning adventures!

4 thoughts on “Calling it good!

Comments are closed.