Reflecting

Sometimes we get really busy–I know that you can relate! That’s been my life for a bit now so this is going to be a two-in-one blog post for me. I’m posting the same blog on my personal blog and also on the Greater Ann Arbor Quilt Guild site.

Nature 15 2

Many people plan and start new projects in the fall, when the kids and teachers are back to school. If you are one of the teachers, free time in the summer is the relax and reflect season. Most folks think about New Year’s Resolutions. For me, it’s the Halloween season.

halloween-wallpaper-55

It’s the peaceful time between that rush back to school and the start of the crazy holidays. It’s fall and the colors are breathtaking.

Days are sunny and warm and nights are cool and crisp and that is energizing to me. It starts the creativity flowing and I start to believe that I can do all 6000 projects that swirl through my brain and get it all done in about 4 weeks!

Then I sit back, take a deep breath, and truly think about what I want to accomplish in the near future. I assess what I enjoy and hate about what I’ve been doing and plan what direction I want my creative life to move in.

108 show 5

Having just finished my Artisan Showcase, I feel like I have time to play. Maybe start those long-term projects that I put off because there were other pressing deadlines.

play11

We all NEED that time to take a breath, slow down and think about what we need for our own mental and physical health. Life is short and we should make it good for ourselves. This happens to be my time for doing that and I’m going to enjoy it.

If you haven’t done that in a while, try it. Don’t be “too busy” to take time for yourself. You deserve it.

4 thoughts on “Reflecting

  1. I am wrapping up any unfinished projects and closing the sewing and painting studios now until January. My husband is having a colon surgery in a week and I will have to take a break from my usual agenda. Time to watch old holiday movies on t.v. and think about a new year.

    Like

Comments are closed.