My improv…

When I’m teaching an improv class, I’m sure to let the students know that there are many ways to do improv piecing and designing. There is absolutely NO WRONG WAY, but we all have our favorite methods and of course that’s what we teach. My favorite method is the stack/slash/switch method because you get a lot of related ‘elements’ in a very short time.

This past week my students had fun making stacks of elements, even though they had no idea what they would be doing with them! (And I’ll ask pardon in advance–I’m pretty sure I didn’t get everyone’s piece. I forget to take pictures during classes and sometimes miss things when I’m hurrying to make up for it!)

Things started making a bit more sense to them when they started to lay them out, either on the design walls or tables.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It takes quite a while to get an arrangement that you like and even longer to get it sewn together! You can spend an hour or a week at the design wall stage–you just never know!

It was another great time for me…and I always hope my students enjoy what they are doing,too! Now I am home, no teaching, for almost 8 weeks. Holiday events will fill in any spare time I might have thought I had, but it is so good to be home with family for the whole holiday season!

I plan on being back to some sewing tomorrow. Maybe I’ll even have something to share with you. If not, it’s because I am too relaxed to write a post!

4 thoughts on “My improv…

    • I was okay with that class…I was happy to have some sewing time and I was only looking to learn another teacher’s technique. Her philosophy just sifted through me and out the other side as I stitched!

      Like

  1. Interesting choices. Finding a good arrangement is half of the work. Have a great holiday. No Christmas shopping for me. I just give them money and let them brave all the crowds. lol

    Like

    • That design wall concept and adding and subtracting elements is the hardest part. I don’t do much shopping either–just for the grandson. Gift cards are very welcome for the rest!

      Like

Comments are closed.