Which is next?

Of course I have several projects calling my name right now. Fortunately, I have never had a creative idea slump…though sometimes I take a break from the actual doing!

There are as many ways of doing improv piecing are there are people doing it, so I’m always adding what I learn or read about to my Textile Toolbox. Currently I have three projects “in the raw” hanging on my design wall. I’m waiting to see which one will scream the loudest.

This one has been up on the wall and down so many times that it may have lost it’s voice from shouting at me. I either need to get on it or forget about it completely. It’s a nagging idea and it must be incomplete or I probably would have started it long ago…as in, several years ago!!!

next-1

And then there are the results of the latest workshop. I learned the technique, which is what I wanted, but I couldn’t stick with the directions for the finishing. I got this far and knew that it wanted to be this basic shape. Needed to dye some fabric for the color of background that I want, but that’s in the dryer right now. It’s kind of big–the leaf shapes are about 36″ tall. Decisions are essentially made with this and it should be a quick and easy finish. It’s shouting pretty loudly!

next-2

Also looking to work with more sheer fabrics. Most of these fabric pieces should end up in the same piece…maybe… The idea has a title but the design has not totally emerged from the mist. It will take more work to get this one to completion, but it’s a challenge I’m eager to take on.

next-3

At this point, I always find it helpful to re-read the famous Robert Frost poem, The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;
Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,
 
And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.
 
I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

 

It makes me take some time and think about what I want to do. I’m thinking now…

2 thoughts on “Which is next?

Comments are closed.