Felted Christmas ornaments

Judy Coates Perez was a guest teacher a couple of years ago at our guild. She is best known for paint and ink techniques and she is a wonderful artist. She recently had a wonderful blog post…which I am sharing with you.

She uses wool yarn and roving to create beautiful felted Christmas ornaments and anyone who loves to do handwork will surely love to try these!

12ornaments

The link to her blog is HERE and you owe it to yourself to check it out!

xmas-tree-felted-orn

These look like so much fun!

I tried it–let me show you what I did!

According to Judy’s instructions, you make the felted balls with roving and stuff it all in old panty hose

ball-felting-1

run it through the washer and dryer and then you are ready to embellish!

ball-felting-2

Using templates for leaf shapes, I got a few pieces of felt ready to add to the felted balls.

ball-felting-7 ball-felting-6 ball-felting-4 ball-felting-3

Embroidery and beading added, this is the first ornament I completed.

felted-ornament-1 felted-ornament-2

Aaaaaand…it was fun, but not the favorite technique I’ve ever learned. However, I’ve seen a few ornaments that were needle felted and I want to try that, too! It is the season, after all!

4 thoughts on “Felted Christmas ornaments

  1. Your ornament is really nice. You could get a start with the washer/dryer technique which will give you the soft felt look, and then use your needles to get the sturdier look.

    Like

Comments are closed.