Which way to go?

As you are reading this, I am in the phase of the design process where I seem to have more questions than answers.

Should I trim the blocks to all the same exact size? Or, due to the way I made them, it would be easy to trim them to all the same height and have some variety in the widths. You know I’m good with things not lining up exactly as they would with the first option.

tropical-triangles-3

Do I want the blocks edge-to-edge or do I want some random strips of fabric here and there to break the rhythm of all triangles?

And color–do I want truly random? Or do I want it all planned out and then get freaky if things get out of order? (I think you can tell which way I’m leaning on this question!)

And here’s the hardest question of all…I have NOT used up all the fabric in this group. I have not made any funky triangles out of the smaller bits. That’s quite time consuming but could be the sparks of interest to use instead of random bits of color thrown in. Yes, all the fabric could go into the quilt back–and probably will–but I really hate piecing the backs. Would my time be better spent fussy cutting for the front or the back? Or throw/give away the rest of the scraps? Or make them up into a second, smaller piece? Or make my quilt top bigger?

tropical-triangles-2

There are so many questions to answer when you are making things up as you go along. Sometimes it’s a lot easier to follow someone else’s pattern and measurements and simply sew, after they have answered all those questions and served up a design to you!

Okay, back to the design board. I am going to stay strong and answer those questions, NOT procrastinate and take a nap!

18 thoughts on “Which way to go?

  1. Life isn’t always neatly planned out, following a predetermined path, and ending at the desired destination. Sometimes, quilts should reflect the turns, surprises, dead ends, questions, answers and emotions of life.

    Like

  2. This randomness is looking good. On a bed, a pathway wouldn’t be apparent, since it is so close-up the eye doesn’t catch it. Making small triangles is tedious work, don’t think that this kind of piecing would be pleasing, but an outer border frame of small irregular triangles could be stunning.

    Like

    • I don’t think my DNA has the programming to make enough small triangles for a border…just the thought of it made me shake my head! I’m working on it today and we’ll see how it ends up, but so far mostly random is working.

      Like

  3. Heavens….that’s way too many options for my stale brain that hasn’t had creative opportunties for awhile…..whatever you do, given your keen sense of design, it will be just right….

    Like

  4. I think it looks good just as is. However, I will pass this along. I do tours for children at our art museum. There is one large piece that has multi colors and shapes The artist did some clever pathways through the abstract piece using the color yellow. Yellow is the first color that the eye is drawn to. By placing yellow in strategic locations, it unified the whole multicolored, multishaped splotches by making a pathway for the eye to follow. Just some random thoughts on that.

    Like

      • I didn’t know it was destined to be a bed quilt – BUT, having read some of these replies, I do like the “pathway” idea in yellow – it wouldn’t have to be continuous, nor wide – maybe just covered cording that goes a little while, breaks and picks back up a block or two later, perhaps moving in a different direction. Remember the “yellow brick road” in the Wizard of Oz. Hope, direction and all. Meaningful! I’ve used a yellow pathway before in a series of paintings that are different, but meant to be seen together, as a way to “connect” them. The pathways did not line up, nor were they contiguous, but they worked! I enjoy seeing your projects – such creativity! I get inspired!
        Thanks!

        Like

        • I’m certainly not big on obvious pathways, but I think there will be a subtle pathway through this one…hint: it’s not yellow! Having fun so far but I can tell I’ll be looking for a whole other color group for the next project. I’m so fickle…

          Like

Comments are closed.