Aaaand….we’re going THIS way!

Well, I persevered and did not take a nap instead of sewing! Decisions were made, though I did not get as far as assembling the quilt top.

Yesterday, my design wall had this layout of blocks. Not a true design layout; just put up on the wall as the blocks were made.

tropical-triangles-3

I made some multi-fabric blocks and added them to see how I liked them.

tropical-triangles-5 tropical-triangles-4

Yep-worth the time it took to make them, but I’m not going to have very many of them. And I will NOT be placing the blocks randomly. I only want it to LOOK like I did!

The blocks are all trimmed now and ready to start assembly. I trimmed them to the same height so rows will be easy to put together, but the widths will be different. The columns will not line up and I think that will be much more interesting.

tropical-triangles-6

There is still a small pile of fabric left. If I were a pillow person, I’d make some pillows to go with the quilt. For now, I can let the pile sit there–without guilt! But that fabric WILL NOT be returning to my stash. I am done with it!

tropical-triangles-2

Bag of scraps will be going to another home, one way or another!

One more day of sewing should get this top finished. First full size quilt in a long, long time and it feels good!

 

8 thoughts on “Aaaand….we’re going THIS way!

  1. I think that your idea of staggering row blocks is great –I love the colors–very vibrant and rich. Great improv work–looking forward to seeing how it all comes together….hugs, Julierose

    Like

    • Quick and easy–scraps give a whole different look and feeling than if I had used a single background color. And using dark colors makes a huge difference, too. Staggered rows look good on the wall…we’ll see!

      Like

Comments are closed.