And next up….

The Knot Even Quilters (AKA Whacky Quilters!) have chosen paper fabric for this month’s experiment. I have read about it but not done it, so that’s what I played with yesterday.

Start with plastic covering your table–for sure! There are many and various blogs and tutorials on the internet, so I just played with what felt right as I went along. Mixed glue and water and went to town.

One of the tips was to water color the tissue paper before you use it. I was planning on using old watercolor paintings for a base…maybe…so I wet a couple of paintings and put some tissue paper on them.

paper-fabric-1 paper-fabric-2

Picked up the color just fine, but very pale. Fine if you start with a white base, not so much if you start with color. But I had colored tissue paper for playing with, too.

I used three different bases for my experiment: a thin, mesh-y fabric, a regular cotton, dyed dark, and a relatively thin paper watercolor painting.

I added tissue and glue and threads and yarn.

paper-fabric-3

When wet, you could see everything very well.

paper-fabric-4 paper-fabric-5

When I came down this morning to the dried pieces on the plastic covered table, here’s what I saw.

paper-fabric-6

Nothing too exciting when I peeled the pieces off the plastic…I left half of each piece as is and took the other half to play with.

paper-fabric-7

The dried tissue on the watercolor paper, without glue, actually looked the most interesting!

paper-fabric-8

The thin, mesh fabric ended up being way too thin to use as is, but it can be layered on something else or more tissue and texture added to it. I did a bit of stitching on the other two pieces. The fabric base had white tissue over the whole thing and dried to a pretty boring piece. The transparency of the pieces when wet vanished when dry so the white tissue made the piece pretty boring and white! That will NOT be the top layer next time!

I tried tearing the tissue in a few places to expose the metallic thread I had inserted, but it didn’t want to tear very well. Verdict: I could use this, but it would need a lot of work before it would be something I liked.

paper-fabric-9

The watercolor paper base also had a white tissue covering the top, but the yarn I inserted while layering didn’t seal tightly and was easier to tear open for texture. It stitched quite well and gave me a base that I think will make an interesting project, worth further development.

paper-fabric-10

There will be more experiments, because I have a TON of old watercolor ‘paintings’ to play with…quite a few that are really ugly and now there is hope for new life! I definitely have a whole new area to explore. Hooray!

2 thoughts on “And next up….

    • It’s not capturing my interest as much as some other things I’ve tried but I’m liking the work with the watercolor papers. I’ll play some more and hope I get something I can work with!

      Like

Comments are closed.