White on white

Definitely hard to photograph! I’m trying to learn how to be a better photographer, but the workings of f-stops and depth of field are like Greek to me. That’s my disclaimer, right up front!

My friend made a beautiful Christmas tree skirt for her daughter from her mother’s wedding dress–three generations remembered. She also embroidered her daughter’s name along with that of her husband and the husband part didn’t last forever. This tree skirt, along with a stocking, needs to be saved but the embroidery cannot be removed without damage.

tommelein-1 tommelein-2

We brainstormed quite a few ideas and then mom left it in my hands! So trusting–I’ll do my best not to let her down.

Somewhere in my reading I saw that free motion stitching on a circle with felt backing will result in a nice, wavy floret. I have had my own issues with waviness and heavy stitching so I thought I’d try to do it on purpose.

Heavy stitching in a free form flower–

tommelein-4

Flowers on a piece of silk, fused to a scrap of the velvet from the tree skirt–

tommelein-3

Looks pretty wavy–

tommelein-5

And produces a cute little flower form when cut out! Looks like a winner!

I think I should be able to make a nice little 3-D embellishment and save this tree skirt!

tommelein-6

Some pretty trim, organza ribbon, 3D flowers and perhaps some beads. I think it will be elegant and look intentional, not like a repair!

********************

And it’s done! Haven’t shown it to the owner yet so I don’t know if she will like it or not, but it’s ready to be shown.

Here’s what I found out about the distorted fabric flowers…they are really, really distorted. EACH petal of the flower rolls up towards the center and that is not the look I wanted. The example I saw that used circles didn’t have that issue because there were not separate areas. I ended up sewing down almost every petal, but in the end it was worth it.

tommelein-7

I did not add any additional beads or organza. The beaded trim seemed sufficient. Hope she likes it!

6 thoughts on “White on white

Comments are closed.