Lost in the wetlands…

Not me, thank goodness! The wildlife refuge where we walk has nice paths raised above the wetlands so that it’s easier to see the birds and alligators. When I am standing on that path and look in any direction, I see to the horizon, but it’s all the same…grasses, water and a few trees.

wildlife-on-path

Hot sun, even in February and nothing but that sun to give you direction. When I step off the path, down to actual ground level, this is what I see.

wildlife-ground-level

It makes me realize how foolish it would be to leave these nice, safe paths. And how hard it would be for anyone who was camping or tracking birds to try to find their way out of the wetlands. You could so easily lose your way.

No metaphors, or philosophy today. Simply the physical reality of this environment…AND there are alligators!

Lectures and teaching this week then it’s real vacation time. Still funny to think of vacation when I am retired but it’s essentially a change of routine and a break from “should be doing” to “whatever I feel like doing.”

Aaaaahhh…

2 thoughts on “Lost in the wetlands…

    • For me, it was the start of a wonderful book and teaching/traveling adventure. If it hadn’t been for that pension, I could still be working! But what I do now is never work…it’s *fun* that I get paid to do!

      Like

Comments are closed.