Workshop fun day

Today was a guild workshop day, with Mary Hogan. Mary wrote the book String Quilt Style, but today’s workshop wasn’t about her great string techniques. Today was a free design play day and I loved it!

Many design classes teach the typical art school design definitions and use many of the same type of exercise. Very clear but can be dry at times. Mary gave us tasks and let us ‘free form design’…she wanted to enable us to express our own unique creativity.

I did not take pictures of what anyone else created. I didn’t even take pictures of everything I created! We were too busy MAKING stuff!!!

This was my first one. Then busy, busy, busy! The great variety and beauty was astonishing as the day went on and pieces were hung on the wall. We did our own thing, yes, but we looked and learned and discussed what we saw. We were able to think outside the box and get ideas from outside every else’s box, too!

These are my last pieces…a series because I used the same background fabric and palette of materials. I like it and that first one enough that they will be finished, not thrown in the box of class samples that just sit and gather dust!

This was such a wonderfully fun day. Thanks to Mary’s direction and instruction, we learned, laughed and had a great day!