Walk away from the cutter…

Started with a blank design wall again today. This is nice! Sooooo…I have a lot of polka dot fabrics and I’ve always thought I wanted to make a polka dot quilt. I started pulling all my dots from the various colorways. FYI–my stash is mostly sorted by color.

Not surprisingly, I have more oranges than any other color.

Aren’t they cute? And they could all live together in one quilt.

But then there are these darker, more conservative reds, and a pile of things that don’t go with anything else.

And these lighter coordinates…

I love all these greens, too.

I purposely eliminated anything that was strictly black and white, but these dots are all in that same family.

Of course there are other things that come to light when you are looking through the stash. I had this stack that was intended to go together into something at some point in the past.

It looks like I even started to put some strips together.

What an eye-gouging mess!!! This may have been when I discovered that if you have a busy print like these are, it needs to be used in big chunks, with some breathing room. I’ll be working on that soon, but it was a bit much for today!

I decided on the softer grays and laid out my pieces and as I was about to make a cut…I just could NOT cut into the fabric.

I laid it all out again and looked and looked and the right combination of ideas simply would not align themselves in my head.

That’s when it’s time to walk away from the cutting table and go think for awhile! That may mean that when I come back to it, I may end up working on something entirely different!

Thinking time….

11 thoughts on “Walk away from the cutter…

  1. I’ve made several polka dot quilts and found the same issues you are having…..all the fabrics are fantastic but it takes quite a bit of editing to get them to play well together. You’ll get it….you always do!!

    Like

Comments are closed.