Dots and decisions

This what I posted on Facebook earlier today:
I’m thinking of drawing out an idea and actually making templates for the construction…should I go to all that work or stick with my improv and maybe have raw edges and extra texture? I can visualize it both ways. Or maybe I should DO it both ways…so much work!

I couldn’t wait, so I went down, did a quick, rough sketch and started cutting fabric! I picked a background and laid out the design I sketched. I like it!

I didn’t take a picture while I had it on the design wall with the background. It’s pinned together now and I have to decide on my construction method…fusible, glue baste, pin, pin, pin, raw edge, finished with applique or satin stitch…This will sit for a bit while my little brain works through those decisions.

But there were SCRAPS! I do well with scraps because if it’s messed up, so what? It’s only scraps!

Two pieces for the background–

Add the circle cut out from the first project–

And then add a few leftover strips–

Same finishing decisions as the previous project, but this is fun! I’m so happy when I’m using up these little chunks of fabric. Looking forward to some embroidery, I believe, before these are done.

Aaaaah…’making’ again!

