Dots and stitches

The larger of my two turquoise and gray pieces was where I started stitching with those luscious threads. I was immediately disappointed with what I was doing.

Can barely see the blanket stitch edging on the gray, but there will be more and maybe it will be all right….at least, that’s what I kept telling myself.

So I switched over to the heavier #5 thread and turquoise. The running stitch was where I started and took it out after the first 20 or so stitches. Went along the edges with a chain stitch and it was okay.

Visible and the cross stitch section was working all right. Then I tried more gray on gray–you can almost see it at the top of the turquoise strip.

Time to re-assess.

Looking at the whole thing again, it’s spare, graphic and all the separate parts are very directional. It needs straight lines, through the pieces, intersecting the pieces, uniting and extending the pieces in the design. I can do that with hand work if there is a straight line marked to follow, but I hate marking…it never comes out, no matter how vigorously I test. Back up a step…I hate marking because you have to get it out!

It’s relatively easy to do with machine stitching and no marking, using the edges of the various presser feet for my measurements and ‘marking.’ So I’m going to head to the machine and get some stitching done there. Those lines can be guidelines and another layer of texture. The hand stitching can be added afterward. And since I don’t add the backing until the handwork is done, I’ll leave plenty of space for machine quilting the background at that point.

Now this all sounds like it will work, but all my work is simply a series of ‘what ifs’ and ‘maybe this or that.’ I love creating this way, but I know it’s not for everyone. I do appreciate suggestions from those of you who have already tried something that I may be heading toward. I don’t need to re-invent the wheel and will happily learn from your mistakes as well as my own!

Oh, yes…I’m much happier already!

10 thoughts on “Dots and stitches

  1. I have started to use soap slivers again because I had trouble removing marks from my hand dyed fabric. Works like a charm and lasts a fairly long time but you can mostly just brush it away. Mark likes Zest so I have a ton of blue which works great on everything. I will tuck a couple in my bag for Monday and you can try it! Sonya reminded me about it. I used it all the time for garments. Just forgot it because of all the fancy stuff out there now!

    Like

  2. No idea where the word insourcing came from in the above comment. Something my iPad has made up. I think I was trying to write ‘in your’.

    Like

  3. Have you tried a Clover Hera Marker? I use one in preference to marking fabric with pens etc. It just puts a crease were you want to sew which is temporary as the more you handle when sewing the quicker it disappears. I usually only ‘crease’ a couple or three lines at a time. I’ve looked it up and it costs £6 dollars in the US. I think people tend not to use them because they can’t believe they work. You could trial with a butter knife or something similar.
    The machine stitching insourcing piece have really added a good dimension. Once again you’ve got lots of movement going on because of the stitching. Brill.

    Like

    • I have a Hera marker and I’ve used it…as well as the butter knife! I almost always go free form or use painters tape for straight lines. I do very little marking. I only wish that sometimes I could draw when I actually need something marked! Good thing I know how to trace…

      Like

Leave a Reply

