Change of pace

Been working on the scrap and charity quilts and thinking about making stamps. My actual activity level has been less than lazy! I’ve been sitting on the couch a lot, getting sucked in to computer time, playing games and reading blogs. I haven’t even picked up a needle and thread to do any embroidery, even though my project is sitting on the table right next to my spot on the couch!

After my nice nap today, I wandered down to the studio to make sure I have everything I need to teach a class tomorrow. What caught my eye was a bunch of funky yarn that I had once intended to make a scarf from…you know, one of those where you start with a wash-away stabilizer, lay out the yarn and stitch over it. Yeah, months ago and still not even started. So I grabbed it up, tied the ends of those small pieces together and decided to KNIT a scarf.

I used to knit scarves out of all the funky, popular yarns and sold some and gave some to charity. I have tons of yarn ends and small bits and pieces that I thought I would use for embellishments. I cannot ‘art’ enough of anything to use this all up, so I’m going to try and knit it up. Anything left by the end of this year will be put on the ‘free table’ at my various group meetings.

This came out so thick and fluffy and warm and funky! I love it and will be using up more yarn this way.

Knitting is great for laziness! I can sit and move my fingers a little bit and really be pretty darn relaxed, for hours at a time! Maybe I can blame this bout of lazy on damp, cold, cloudy weather. Hope it doesn’t last too long, because I really don’t love doing nothing!

2 thoughts on “Change of pace

  1. Love the idea… but what size needles are you using.. do you make sure all of the yarns are the same weight… or does it just add to it if the sides are not all straight… just curious.. .need to use up yarn also..and fabric and need more time to do it all… and here I am at the computer catching up.

    Like

    • Most of these yarns are the same type and weight, so that makes it easier, but I’ve done it with oddball different weights, too. It’s best with something fuzzy, several strands and large needles (11-12-13). Soft and fuzzy and thick makes people happy every time!

      Like

Leave a Reply

