Moment in history…

In the history of the world, this is nothing. In the history of my sewing career, this is momentous!!!

A totally clear cutting table, ready for action.

I don’t know yet what that action will be, but I AM READY!!!

Last pics of the cross quilt until it’s completely done, I promise. I used almost all of the blocks I received–143 to be exact. I only counted because I know someone will ask! There were 5 that I didn’t use on the front, so they will be part of a large label on the back.

I have them basted down and they will be quilted as I quilt the whole top, and if I get any more late additions, they will be added the same way.

The top is basted–I use spray basting–and marked.

Are you wondering why you can’t see the marks? It’s because the only ‘marking’ needed are the lines of blue painter’s tape that are crossing the top. Even though I will be washing this quilt because I always wash out spray basted quilts, I don’t like to mark with anything else. So whenever I can start with tape to mark straight lines, that’s what I do. I can continue to space out my lines with the tape, which comes in lots of widths. Or I can space lines with my presser foot, or the quilting guide bar that comes with most machines. I can also use the lines I quilt to mark out areas that will be filled with free motion ‘anything-I-want’ designs. Oh, I suppose I could simply outline the squares of the quilt, but that would be very uneven on this one and kinda boring!

Yep, the quilt is ready, but I am not ready to do the quilting yet! There is time (I think!).

I have ideas to explore that began with a class with Mary Hogan and continued with my Wacky Quilters group–working in a series. I have two sets of blocks that are distinct sets and yet both are exploring the idea of buildings.

In my mind, these really continue my City Grids ideas and I’m eager to work more on them.

I also have to finalize what our Blue Lake project will be this year,  AND make some samples. My class at QU could use some additional examples of what can be done with simple embellishment, too. It’s hard when you have to pick only one picture for a class sample, and there is so much more you can/will be showing!

Lots of projects from which to choose and my UFO pile continues to grow. I’ve always said that I will never run out of things to do, but it’s not a good thing to have so many projects that you never finish anything! I believe that’s a good goal for the rest of the summer—finish, finish, finish!

 

