Parfait dyeing

It’s not a new technique, but it’s been a while since I’ve done it…I most always love the results, but find them hard to use. Basic instructions, if you don’t know, are to layer fabric, dye liquid, soda ash liquid, fabric, dye, soda, scrunching and stuffing until the container is full. I like tall, thinner containers, but whatever container you use, the results seem better if you stuff it full and tight.

So here’s what my jar o’fabric looks like, full and processing.

That bright yellow at the bottom stayed like that because I stuffed this jar so very, very tightly! The rest of jar full looks a lot like mud, but it’s surprising to see when you take it out.

In order, from the bright yellow on the right to the gold-brown on the left. I did make a color ‘error’ and added yellow again after purple. Mixing complementary colors will always get you a brown or gray, but this one isn’t bad. Very earthy colors.

Here’s a little video close-up of these, so you can see the colors a bit better.

The colors mix more if the fabric is loosely packed into the container, but the whole point is to get this variegated effect, so when you try it, pack ’em in!

I have more to rinse out…..I dyed more fabric than I thought!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Parfait dyeing

    • I love this technique…just be thoughtful about color mixing when adding your dye. Complementary colors should not go one right after the other unless you are *trying* to make brown or gray! It’s fun!

      Like

Comments are closed.