Working in a series, continued

Working in a series is sometimes an unconscious decision. We don’t realize that we are creating a theme or exploring an idea until we are well into the project and suddenly realize it. We can also set a theme, or choose a color or shape or size to explore. My Knot Even Quilters group decided to explore a theme of Buildings, and have 3 or 4 pieces each to enter into a show.

I already had a start on this project with these pieces from a workshop.

I finished the quilting on them yesterday, and it was not one of those agonizing sessions of trying to decide what to quilt. I knew from the start that I wanted simple thread sketching shapes.

In my head, they are a complete series, and flow in a natural order.

Building: Idea

Building: Plans

Building: Parts

Building: Built

These are not mounted or edge finished yet. That seems to be where the angst of indecision is on these!

I have another series created on this same theme, for the same challenge. Totally different color scheme and much more linear shapes. Plan is for thread sketching again, but they are not done–I can’t figure out the best thread color. I’ll show you when I get ’em done, of course!

Series are fun on a small scale like this. It’s also interesting to look over your own work and realize that you have made pieces to a theme over the years and not even realized it! Aaaah….the ideas that emerge from our subconscious…I’m thinking my weirdness will keep me from ever running out of ideas from the unconscious!!!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Working in a series, continued

    • I think I will explore it some more, but with small pieces! I used fat quarters this time and don’t need to make anything larger anymore. If I make a bunch at a time in the series, they might not get finished.

      Like

Comments are closed.