Designing Quilts · Quilting · Teaching

Putzing around

Little of this, little of that…I have a lecture and workshop next week and I haven’t really gotten myself organized. That was my goal for today, but I didn’t make tons of progress. As usual, I got distracted as I pulled things off the shelves.

I still had my original drawing of that last map project. It is way too detailed for the way I like to make the maps.

However, it is certainly still useable. I just have to un-detail it a bit. And how do you do that, you ask? I start by looking at the main dark road lines. I decide whether or not to keep them all or eliminate some. I will indicate that by tracing over the ones I want to keep in a different color. I will mostly ignore any of the small streets on the piece until I have a general background created and the main roads stitched on it. Then I will select and decide on fine road lines and buildings, water and green spaces. Nothing needs to remain as it was drawn originally, but it still helps to have those lines for a starting point. May get back to this in a couple of weeks, but right now it got folded and put on a shelf.

Next up was trying to select examples for the lecture, which ended up giving me a pile of forgotten and/or unfinished projects. I can use them for technique examples, but I found one that I would like to finish as my next free time project.

There is a lot of stitching on this one already, but not easy to see. I must have intended it for strictly filler/background quilting. Cannot remember what I was going to do so the creativity window is wide open when I get back to it.

And my brain got tired of trying to organize so I took some time to start the quilting with my new test batting, on the baby quilts I just made.

So far it’s quilting up just fine. No pills, easy to stitch through. Can’t wait to get it finished now and see how it washes up!

But I still do need to make final choices and get organized for next week. Maybe tomorrow will be a better day for concentration on that!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.