Art Quilts · Non-traditional Quilts · Quilting · Use Up the Stash

Yep–UFO time

In prepping for my guild lecture last week, I unearthed a few UFO’s that I had completely forgotten about. I grabbed a few of them today to see if I want to get them finished up.

Yep–I think I want to finish them ALL. None of them are awful and they are all close to done.

I chose the wool embroidery one and had a hard time deciding on which edge finish I wanted.

I really, really love my raw edges and this piece seemed perfect for that. Except, lots of the stitching went over the edge and I already had batting and a backing on it. Basically that meant a lot of unstitching and figuring out what to do on the back. The back turned out to be easy when I opened the drawer that held the cording I wanted for the front and saw all the bias binding packages!

Two rows of corded threads finished up the front and then I frayed the edges. All that is left now is a label and a sleeve and there will be one less UFO on my shelf and one more finished picture hanging on my storage rack.

More importantly, though, is that I got my lawn mowed. I feel a lot better about spring chores now that I got that one out of the way! And planting can still wait for a few weeks–until the weather is warmer and we go to a couple of out of town hockey tournaments!!!

Working on these UFO’s seems like it might be a win-win for short bouts of working time interspersed with hockey games!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.