Beading · Life · Quilting

May Gardening?

My gardening was going to get the priority this week. I wanted to finish digging out the 8 tons of gravel left by the previous owners. That was the only thing that was planted here…all around the house! I don’t want to plant flowers all around, so I don’t have to move all of that gravel, but I’ve already moved a lot of it and I feel like I’m on the home stretch now. Get the garden ready and planted, get the lawn mowed, trimmed and ready for summer and start burning a bunch of twigs and brush in my little fire pit.

This is what we have today…

This is how much rain we’ve had in the couple of hours since it started…

This is what I’m doing today…

And it’s supposed to rain all day! Too bad!

8 thoughts on “May Gardening?

  1. Good luck with your garden. I hope you post pictures are it progresses. Love that beaded design by the way.

    Like

    1. I’ll post pictures if I actually get blossoming plants…I’ve not often killed by transplant but I have killed by not watering! I haven’t actually ever killed a bead, yet, so that’s a bit safer!

      Like

  2. I am doing May gardening also.. Veggie’s in and hope there isn’t any frost. Can snow for Mothers day.. I think we are in for a hot summer in Central Ca. Your rain looks lovely,, we are putting the timers on our drip system.

    Like

    1. Yes, I’ve lost flowers to frost in May before, so I’ll get things prepped this week and maybe plant a few next week. The rain lasted just long enough for me to start on something inside today, but I’m looking forward to getting back in the dirt again tomorrow!

      Like

  3. Maybe there was a reason the previous owners of your house had all that gravel. Drainage? Iowa/Illinois Quad Cities has had the deluge, too. For my international postcard swap this month, I’m using your Up And Away geese technique in miniature to interpret the “board games” theme.

    Like

    1. Nope–they just hated gardening! And you guys were being deluged when I was there! So glad you can find a use for that technique so quickly…it’s the only way I’ll make them anymore.

      Like

  4. We are dealing with the rain and storms here in the southern part of Missouri too. I no longer do yard work, so my husband is stuck with the problems. On the other hand, I am doing a lot of beading, so all is not lost. lol

    Like

    1. I love to garden, but I’m not so much in to the manual labor of it anymore…perennials are what I plant now. My husband hates any yard work, but doesn’t mind cooking. Fair trade for me! But rainy day beading is just great…on sunny days, too!

      Like

Comments are closed.