Art Quilts · Beading · Modern Quilts · surface design

Hey, Caroline–look what I did!

The Ann Arbor Modern Quilt Guild has a Secret Stalker swap that is a favorite of all the members. We draw a name and then “stalk” that person on social media, in order to make a personalized small quilt for them. Caroline drew my name and did a super job on my swap. She not only made a small quilt, but she gave me an extra large mug for my love of coffee and beads for my other addiction!

It’s been a while, and I finally used the beads and mug and added to the piece. I copied the design on the mug onto the piece with a thread sketch and then added the beads on the design.

AAMQG Carolyn 2

The bead colors were perfect and now I’ll have all the parts and memories of the Secret Stalker gift all together in one piece.

Caroline–it took me a while, but it was such a thoughtful gift from you. I had lots of fun adding to it. Thanks!

AAMQG Carolyn 1

Can’t wait until the next Secret Stalker swap!

4 thoughts on “Hey, Caroline–look what I did!

  1. Love what you did! I’m so glad you added to the piece; now it’s truly a special piece. It was fun making the mini (my first one ever!). I was such a nervous wreck making it and you were so gracious at the big reveal. I never thought to check if the beads were colorfast, my apologies if they aren’t. I enjoy reading about your quilting adventures and happy to contribute to them! –caroline

    Like

    1. The beads you go were totally high quality beads–it never ocurred to me to check them for colorfastness! And I don’t plan on washing this, so that won’t be a problem. And I love this piece! Thank you again.

      On Tue, Jul 14, 2015 at 1:25 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.