Art Quilts · Designing Quilts · Non-traditional Quilts · surface design

Jumping right in!

My niece set up a new project for me and I got right on it! Her boss loved the map quilt I made and wondered if I could do a map project for them. Well………I loved making the first map quilt following Valerie Goodwin’s tutelage and definitely wanted to make another, so there was no question that the answer would be yes.

I got my map selected, printed, projected, traced and ready the next day! Here’s the first version that I printed out and I was quite happy with the look of it.

I didn’t do too much manipulation before I printed it out on a transparency. I have an overhead projector so this is the easiest method for me. I played with the sizing a bit and decided to use most of the center of this print.

My first construction decision was that I would use interfacing for a base fabric and maybe start with some translucent organza fabrics.

It is definitely NOT necessary to trace out all the details, but I felt that I wanted too much rather than regret not doing enough later.

Ready to go!!! And then I started to sort through fabrics and decided that I am not even going to try to make this level of detail on this project! Back to the drawing board…….selected a section to zero in on and enlarge, printed and got it drawn.

I still drew in more detail than I need because I think it will help when it comes to stitching time.

So now I’m ready again to start looking for suitable fabrics and getting that first layer down. I hope to be able to get to that and make some good progress by the weekend….at least until it’s time to make some Easter dinner.

Always look forward to dinners with the family. Nothing better, and we DO have chocolate bunnies!

6 thoughts on “Jumping right in!

  1. Love the Mondrian color palette. Nothing like mostly white, thin lines of black and bold primary color blocks. So, cheery. Thanks for sharing your “set-up” method.

    Like

  2. Map quilts is something I’m interested in but have not tried it yet. Lucky you with a projector. I will be following your process and see if I can adapt somehow.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.