Art Quilts · Fabric · Handwork · Quilt Design · surface design

Toss it or keep working it?

This piece has already gone from hating to liking, to hating, to hoping for redemption. I had it all ready to start doing some hand stitching, and just couldn’t do it!

Orange painted 1

It needs more work, or it should have had less work…I’m not sure! Anyhow, it’s very disorganized so I thought I’d start by adding an allover grid of machine stitching.

Orange painted 2

It helped and I’ve proceeded to start on some embroidery.

Orange painted 7

I’m not sure that’s going to save the day either. I’m really torn between just pitching it or keeping on with the stitching.

Orange painted 6 Orange painted 5

Orange painted 4 Orange painted 3

Maybe it’s just because it’s too big and needs so much more stitching. And maybe I’ll try to do some of it with couching on the sewing machine…since my fingers are sooooooooo sore already from pulling the needle through fabric with too much paint!

Don’t know yet, so I’ll take a break and re-assess it tomorrow!

18 thoughts on “Toss it or keep working it?

  1. i like it Mary, and I think stepping back for a time may allow your creative brain to sum up for you what you’re trying to say. I find it extremely interesting.

    Like

  2. I rather like it, put it away for a while where you can’t see it, then come back, then you will figure it out.

    Like

    1. Yep–it definitely needs to be hidden from sight for a while. I might take it out a year from now and love it. Well, it *could* happen!

      On Sat, Oct 17, 2015 at 10:58 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. Only you know, of course. I think it could use a few largish vibrant beads in a sparkly cinnamon color or deep brownish barn red.

    Like

    1. Lori, they might need to be dinner plate sized beads to compete with the busy-ness! I’m going to check out the bead and button collection to see what’s there, but I’m so very undecided…

      On Sat, Oct 17, 2015 at 8:47 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  4. Leave it on the wall for awhile. Something will come to you. From what I see from here it is quite busy . The stitching you have done so far is helping but maybe you need a focal point? Beads? Couched yarn? Found objects? Let it stew 🙂

    Like

    1. It is extremely busy and I tried to make the orange be the focal point…but there’s too much of that, too. So it is definitely in time out for a while!

      On Fri, Oct 16, 2015 at 8:47 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    1. Oops! Too late. I’ve already added more stitching, but it’s mostly white and seems to be a good idea! We’ll see….

      On Wed, Oct 14, 2015 at 7:44 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

        1. Maybe…I’ll see how the ‘natural’ divisions work out. It could be 3 or 4 odd sized pieces. I love how I never know how a piece will turn out when I begin!

          On Tue, Oct 13, 2015 at 10:41 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

          >

          Like

  5. it will be fun to see what u come up with. i have been hand sewing and beading on one of my pieces from Lynnes class.

    Like

    1. I’ve been kind of stuck on this one. I have others that I like better, so I should just set this aside and work on those. Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

      On Tue, Oct 13, 2015 at 9:04 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.