Color · Fabric · Quilting · surface design · Thinking About Quilting!

Creating fabric

Had a marvelous time at the class I took this weekend on creating fabric. Started out with blank white fabric and ended up with printed magic.

Of course, not everything we print is awesome, but the fun comes from the playing and making!

And the magic with this class is that we learned so many different ways to put the paint on the fabric. It was so full of information that we didn’t even have time to try everything, but that info is filed away in my brain for future reference!

My buddy Carol created fabric in different classes all weekend and as I came and went, I admired a piece that she made. The little devil slipped it into my bag and I discovered it when I got home. What a sweetheart and now I get to have it and use it!

QU fabric 6

My fabrics were truly experiments in using different tools and I certainly will be working into some of them with more ideas. I also think there may be some cutting into smaller pieces and collage work using these.

QU fabric 7 QU fabric 5 QU fabric 3 QU fabric 4 QU fabric 2 QU fabric 1

Our instructor has an unbelievable collection of stamping items that she has collected and used over the years. And now there is nothing safe and we can’t ever throw anything away, because it might be good for printing someday!!

The only saving grace right now is that I have to order some supplies!

11 thoughts on “Creating fabric

    1. It was indeed a wonderful class and I got interesting fabric…interesting, but not fabulous. That’s perfectly all right for a class situation, because all the words that came into my brain covered a whole lot more than just that fabric!

      On Sat, Aug 1, 2015 at 2:08 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  1. It looks like a wonderful class and your certainly ended up with some very intreating “artsy” fabric.

    Like

  2. Awesomeā€¦..can you give us some hints about how you did some of these designsā€¦ā€¦.(yes, I understand these may be proprietaryā€¦.but itā€™d be interesting to learn an overviewā€¦.esp. since you said this was paintā€¦NOT dye.)

    Like

    1. I will definitely post another blog about this after I’m back from teaching it to middle school kids. I’m sure I will learn something from them as well!

      On Fri, Jul 31, 2015 at 7:14 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. Who was your instructor? I particularly liked the last sample of the leaves
    overprinted with more leaves.

    Like

    1. Linda Lindsey of Square Rose Designs was the instructor and both of those leaf stamps were hers. She taught us so much about stamps and stamping and gave us so many wonderful ideas! She just seems to know *everything* and presents it in a great way.

      On Wed, Jul 29, 2015 at 11:51 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    1. That Carol is a tricky one! And I used all the fabrics today to show the kids what can be done. Can’t wait to get them started on it tomorrow.

      On Wed, Jul 29, 2015 at 8:53 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    1. When I use more of my unique dyed or painted fabrics, I feel like much more of an artist than when I use commercial fabric. I’m more deliberate in my decisions and usually happier with the results. And making more…oooo la la fun!

      On Wed, Jul 29, 2015 at 7:52 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.