Designing Quilts · Learning New Things! · Non-traditional Quilts · Thinking About Quilting! · Weekly Special

Holes in Quilts part 3

One more hole today–I want to do a triangle. Same method–main fabric and facing right sides together, stitch around the shape and clip the corners. Turn and press.

holes-in-quilts-21

I’m feeling very confident with this technique now and this only took a few minutes to do. Seriously, it was about 5 minutes!

Decided to forge ahead and try to finish this one. Placed it on a variegated wool square, at an angle.

holes-in-quilts-22

Rather than keep it all neat and tidy, I decided that I wanted frayed edges. And that I would do all my stitching by machine, not hand embroidery.

This is as far as I got—close to done.

holes-in-quilts-24

Of course I want to add some beads, in and around the center section. I may add some hand stitching before I’m done, too. Don’t know that yet, but I’m happy with it so far.

All in all, I’m quite pleased with my hole-y quilt experiments. Lots of fun and I’ve increased my confidence in creating holes by quite a bit. I think there will be more holes in my quilts in the future.

2 thoughts on “Holes in Quilts part 3

    1. Playing with fabric combinations is some of the most fun for me. And it’s weird how some things that I think I love, I don’t care for so much when they are done. But that’s the way it is with free play experimenting!

      Like

Comments are closed.